De-Jobbed: Going for the Tech Blog Gold

Engadget does podcasting, too.

I want to go to there.

You may be interested to know, dear blog readers, what I have been doing with my time. That’s why you’re here, is it not?

Being ejected from my previous job gave me the opportunity to go for a job I actually care about. On Monday I was in a panic applying for every job I came across. Tuesday, I focused on social media and video-related postings. Today, I really got down to it. Today I applied for jobs I actually want.

First, there was CBS, NBC, Fox, etc. I’m getting to NPR soon, though they let go of a ton of people recently. Not a safe bet.

Then came the idea, why not cold call the places I actually really want to work at?

After having discovered that some Engadget employees live in Chicago, I have become enamored with the idea of working for them.

Digging up old posts about jobs available with them, I unearthed the framework they require from an applicant. I would send them this framework – yet Danified – whether they were looking for it right now or not. Perhaps they’re remember it when they do need it sometime in the near future.

I hope for very near future.

After working on the email for a large chunk of the afternoon, talking with Jake about it, then working on it some more, I finally sent it off to my former editor of a wife, Megan.

(3:27:25 PM) Daniel Craig I’m going to send you something I wrote, ok?
(3:33:30 PM) Megan Craig Hon, it’s EXCELLENT
(3:33:51 PM) Daniel Craig Yay!
(3:33:55 PM) Megan Craig if you had that kind of enthusiasm for all the jobs to which you post, you’d be employed tomorrow!
(3:27:25 PM) Daniel Craig I’m going to send you something I wrote, ok?
(3:33:30 PM) Megan Craig Hon, it’s EXCELLENT
(3:33:51 PM) Daniel Craig Yay!
(3:33:55 PM) Megan Craig if you had that kind of enthusiasm for all the jobs to which you post, you’d be employed tomorrow!
Tomorrow? I hope that’s true, Meg! I want to be employed so bad. If it was for a tech blog, I’d consider giving up a digit.
(2:30:33 PM) Daniel Craig Which digit?
(2:30:43 PM) Jake Mitchell a medium one
(2:30:49 PM) Daniel Craig I say little toe if they’re dumb enough to give me an option
Related (I wrote these to go with the application):
About Dan C
Likes: Games of the video kind, Spider-man, regional hot dogs Dislikes: Close talkers, people singing loudly in public while listening to headphones, yippy dogs

Leave a Reply

