De-jobbed: Day 0 and 1

This is kind of new.

I have been let go from my job. Never had that happen before.

I walk into this closed door meeting thinking it’s about the software they’ve been looking to buy for quite some time. It’s 10 minutes until quitting time on Thursday.

“It’s no secret that sales are down.”

Ok, so we’re not getting the software, I think. It’s really expensive, and we can do without it.

“This will be your last day.”

I half smile. I actually do that. I think it’s just us guys joking around. Looking to the finances woman, I realize that it’s no joke.

Sales are down. Sure. They’ll give me a great reference. Sure. I panick inside, collect my things, and start walking.

Half a paycheck. How far will that get me? How much does unemployment give a week?

Why me?

Megan cries on the phone. We’re moving before the end of the month into a bigger place. More money. The lease is signed.

I call my dad – wait. I buck up first. No use being upset over the phone to him. Gotta think rational. What’s the plan? Steady lip. Firm head.

I call my dad.


We’ll figure this out. I put on pants this morning. That’s the first step.

Then file for unemployment. A solid second step.

Applications go out for 10-15 jobs. Some I’m super excited about. Some would pay the rent. Some would barely.


I’m optimistic on Day 1. It’s a chance to get my career back on track.

We’ll see.

About Dan C
Likes: Games of the video kind, Spider-man, regional hot dogs Dislikes: Close talkers, people singing loudly in public while listening to headphones, yippy dogs

Leave a Reply

