Challenges of the Grind

This isn’t working.
Or maybe I’m just ADD? I get so excited at the thought of new projects, start them, then I get excited at the thought of new projects!
That’s why I have invited friend Jake to contribute to Geek to Me, as well. Maybe he and I combined can fill a blog.
What I really want to do more than write a blog (more than once in a while) is design a blog. This week I ordered my own Wacom tablet. It’s one of those consumer model Bamboo tablets, but I’ve heard good things. It should be serviceable as I continue my graphics training.
Last year I borrowed a tablet from my friend and coworker Adam back in Wyoming. He is a project guy, too, but he throws his entire being into his projects feet first. I would love to be more like Adam. He taught himself web design and some programming over 48 hours once. Likewise, being a little more like Dustin would be nice: He who taught himself Flash in the same way.
So I started going through a whole ton of Illustrator tutorials using Adam’s backup tablet. It was going really well. I was making little vector drawings and a blob painting of my wife in her wedding dress that actually looked pretty good (according to no one but me). That’ll continue as of next week. You really get used to a pen over a mouse after a very short amount of time.
I’m excited.
But the point here is this: I get excited a lot. Then my mind wanders. Hence, Jake will be here when my mind is not.

About Dan C
Likes: Games of the video kind, Spider-man, regional hot dogs Dislikes: Close talkers, people singing loudly in public while listening to headphones, yippy dogs

Leave a Reply

