First! Welcome back, Me.

So, I guess I’m back.

It’s not like I ever left the Internet. I just haven’t really been contributing a whole lot to it.
Back in college, I started a Live Journal account called ‘I speak before I think.’ It was meant to be my emergence into the world of tiny web fame and ended up being something I did because other people were doing it. The kinds of things I posted now have a home on Facebook or Twitter, so my Live Journal days ended (though, do check out such gems as ‘Geekiest thing said today by me‘ and ‘My choices.’).

Following that nonsense, I jumped over to My Space. Don’t go looking for me there. That account was finally officially deleted about a month back. Anyone notice how needy My Space seems these days? They kept sending me emails subjected things like “Wonder What Your Friends are Doing?” No, My Space, I don’t. I find out what they’re doing on other services. That aren’t you.
So.
Bye.

Neediness is not cool in a social networking platform. I wrote some great stuff over there, however, and do mightily wish I had saved it. It was a time in which I worked the third shift at Borders in downtown Chicago. One night in particular, I wrote about wandering in the early hours alone and sleepless and what a great time it was. The responses were the best part. It sounded like such a bad experience until the end, and people got a kick out of it. Good for me. *pat pat*

Umm, speed forward. In early 2008, Meg and I moved out to Wyoming to work at the Casper Star-Tribune where I took a job as Online News Producer. Being the online department, I didn’t really have any choice in the matter of blogging. It would look pretty bad if I didn’t use our own platform. In two years, we changed blogging platforms thrice. I lost so much good stuff. There’s no worse plan for creating a community than destroying it over and over…on purpose.

That’s over now! I started up ‘Geek to Me’ so that I will always have a single place to write at. Maybe I’ll post an atom feed of it somewhere else, but it will hopefully lead back here for some time.


Just so this is out of the way right away: Yeah, it’s supposed to be “geek” and not “Greek.” I spin my thoughts in a nerd-minded way. It’s not a bad thing.
Hmph. When people say, “It’s all Greek to me,” they’re saying that they don’t understand the Greek language just like they don’t understand what’s going on presently. That’s not what I’m saying about geek-speak. I’m saying that it’s all geek for me because I make it that way.

Ok, I think that makes sense now. Or it does to me anyway.

..Lay off me! I’m starving.

@de_craig

About Dan C
Likes: Games of the video kind, Spider-man, regional hot dogs Dislikes: Close talkers, people singing loudly in public while listening to headphones, yippy dogs

Leave a Reply

